Disclosure: When you buy through links on this site, I may earn a commission. Learn more.

The Queen’s Crown by K. M. Shea

The Queen’s Crown by K. M. SheaThe Queen's Crown by K. M. Shea
Series: Court of Midnight and Deception #3
Published by K. M. Shea on March 17, 2021
Format: Paperback
Pages: 370
ISBN: 9781950635139
Source: Purchased



Since the day I was crowned Queen of the Night Court, someone has been trying to kill me. Yay, me!

Finding my would-be-killer has been last on my to do list for a long time—which should tell you what a dumpster fire my life has been. But I can’t ignore it anymore. Whoever is plotting against me is getting serious. If I don’t do something soon I might not survive their next attempt.

Normally, I’d count on Rigel—my consort, who also happens to be a deadly fae assassin—to have my back. But he’s been gone for two months, and when he finally returns he won’t say where he’s been. Great, that’s totally not sketchy.

To make matters worse, I love Rigel—and he doesn’t believe me when I tell him! How’s that for romance?

New to-do list: catch my would-be killer and convince my own husband I love him. All in a day’s work for the Night Queen.

I knew I should have demanded a job description before I took on this queen gig…

The Queen's Crown is the final book in the Court of Midnight and Deception urban fantasy trilogy and is part of the Magiford Supernatural City world. It features fae, werewolves, vampires, and wizards. It’s packed with humor, adventure, and a sweet, slow burn romance between a reluctant fae queen and the assassin who tried to kill her.

Spiritual Content

There’s no spiritual content. 

As far as magic goes, The Queen’s Crown takes place in the Magiford Supernatural City world (first seen in the Hall of Blood and Mercy trilogy), a world inhabited by wizards, vampires, werewolves, fae, and — until a couple of hundred years ago — elves. (There are dragon shifters in the world, too, but we don’t see any in this book. We do see some of their spells and wards, though.) All of them have varying magical abilities (as described below). 

  • Wizards have magical houses and the ability to “bend the elements to our will — like fire, wind, water, you get the point — and fight or defend with raw magic.’ (Quoted from Hall of Blood and Mercy #1.)
  • “The fae are in a similar but opposite position. Since they have to use things to channel the magic for them, they can use magic for things like sealing powers, disguises, embedding a spell in an item, a strain of hypnosis, and so on.” (Quoted from Hall of Blood and Mercy #1.)
  • Vampires are typical vampires, except sunlight only makes them weaker and uncomfortable. They have enhanced senses and are faster than werewolves but not as strong.
  • Werewolves are typical werewolves who can shift at will. They, like vampires, have enhanced senses. (See difference above.)
  • Though elves aren’t present, certain elven artifacts and spells are around. Due to the elves’ ability to create magic simply by existing, elven items are extremely powerful and have varying effects.
  • Dragon shifters are the only shifters capable of casting magic.


Most of the violence in The Queen’s Crown centers around assassination attempts against Leila, including; a fae spider attack, a kidnapping by fae gunmen designed to isolate Leila so they could kill her more easily, and a magic attack by three fae and some shadow monsters. Aside from these, the only other violent acts are Rigel killing fae spiders and shadow monsters while trying to discover the identity of Leila’s would-be assassins and Lord Linus and Rigel dueling with magic and bladed artifacts. None of these scenes are gory or inappropriate.

Drug And Alcohol Content

Skye chews antacids when upset or stressed out, but that’s all as far as alcohol and drugs go.

Sexual Content

Leila and Rigel spend several nights snuggling and sleeping in each other’s beds. There are six descriptive kisses between Leila and Rigel (two of which happen while Leila is sharing a bed with a shirtless Rigel).

Swearing Or Foul Language

  • Two uses of h-ll

My Take On The Queen’s Crown by K. M. Shea

By adding in some swoony kisses — along with the usual mix of adventure, humor, and even a dash of mystery — K. M. Shea takes The Queen’s Crown beyond entertaining and into heartwarming, making the Court of Midnight and Deception trilogy something fans will rave about for many years to come. 

About K. M. Shea

K. M. Shea is a fantasy-romance author who never quite grew out of adventure books or fairy tales, and still searches closets in hopes of stumbling into Narnia. She is addicted to sweet romances, witty characters, and happy endings.

Want More Clean Fiction?

Addicted to Vanilla is now featured on Feedspot as one of the Top 15 Clean Fiction Blogs!

Find Book Boyfriends To Write Home About



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *