Disclosure: When you buy through links on this site, I may earn a commission. Learn more.

Crown of Shadows by K. M. Shea

Crown of Shadows by K. M. SheaCrown of Shadows by K. M. Shea
Series: Court of Midnight and Deception #1
Published by K. M. Shea on March 17, 2021
Format: Paperback
Pages: 360
ISBN: 9781950635115
Source: Purchased



The fae of the Night Court are desperately searching for a new monarch to crown before the Court collapses.

I couldn’t care less.

I’ve done everything I can to bury my fae blood and embrace my human half. That changes when some fae nobles show up on my doorstep and announce that I’m the next Queen of the Night Court.

Becoming an unwilling fae queen? Check. Inheriting a terrible mess? Double check.

The Court is almost bankrupt, my citizens’ favorite hobby is backstabbing one another, and I don’t know who I can trust since someone keeps trying to assassinate me.

Speaking of assassins, I get introduced to the best in the business—a fae lord nicknamed the Wraith. His deadly profession means he fears no one. The only reason he doesn’t kill me on the spot is he’s also a member of the Night Court and the Court’s magic protects me. But that doesn’t prevent him from trading verbal barbs with me whenever we meet.

And if cat herding all these uncooperative fae and chatting with assassins wasn’t enough, I’m required to get married as part of some archaic Court law. This “queen” gig is the worst!

Supposedly I can choose anyone to marry, but with all the infighting I need someone who is neutral and won’t provoke more political power struggles.

So, why do I keep thinking of a certain assassin?

Court of Midnight and Deception is a complete trilogy that takes place in the Magiford Supernatural City universe. It features fae, werewolves, vampires, and wizards! This trilogy is packed with humor, adventure, and a sweet, slow burn romance between a reluctant fae queen and the assassin who tried to kill her.

Spiritual Content

There’s mention of” angel and demon horses,” but that’s all as far as spiritual content goes.

As far as magic goes, Crown of Shadows takes place in the Magiford Supernatural City world (first seen in the Hall of Blood and Mercy trilogy), a world inhabited by wizards, vampires, werewolves, fae, and — until a couple of hundred years ago — elves. (There are dragon shifters in the world, too, but neither they nor their magic appears in this book.) All of them have varying magical abilities (as described below).

  • Wizards have magical houses and the ability to “bend the elements to our will — like fire, wind, water, you get the point — and fight or defend with raw magic.’ (Quoted from Hall of Blood and Mercy #1.)
  • “The fae are in a similar but opposite position. Since they have to use things to channel the magic for them, they can use magic for things like sealing powers, disguises, embedding a spell in an item, a strain of hypnosis, and so on.” (Quoted from Hall of Blood and Mercy #1.)
  • Vampires are typical vampires, except sunlight only makes them weaker and uncomfortable. They have enhanced senses and are faster than werewolves but not as strong.
  • Werewolves are typical werewolves who can shift at will. They, like vampires, have enhanced senses. (See difference above.)
  • Though elves aren’t present, certain elven artifacts and spells are around. Due to the elves’ ability to create magic simply by existing, elven items are extremely powerful and have varying effects.
  • Dragon shifters are the only shifters capable of casting magic.


Most of the violence in Crown of Shadows centers around assassination attempts against Leila, including fae spider attacks, an attempted shooting/stabbing by Rigel, bespelled food designed to choke her to death, an attempted crushing by a three-legged giraffe, and an attack by a spell-powered monster. Aside from these, the only other violent acts are Leila hitting Lord Linus in the head with a giant candle, Lady Chrysanthe shooting at Leila’s companion — injuring a pony in the process — and Leila retaliating by firing back. None of these scenes are gory or inappropriate.

Drug And Alcohol Content

Skye chews antacids when upset or stressed out, but that’s all as far as drugs go.

Lord Linus drinks a “fae alcoholic beverage” (and several refills) while visiting Leila at the Night Court. There’s mention of free alcohol at Leila’s first social, where Leila sees Lord Dion and Rigel drinking by a fountain. Aside from that, all we see is Lord Linus passing a flask to Leila’s mom. (We don’t know what’s inside, but given Linus’s past actions, it’s safe to assume it’s alcoholic.)

Sexual Content

Not present.

Swearing Or Foul Language

  • One use of a-

My Take On Crown of Shadows by K. M. Shea

Packed with the author’s trademark humor and set in the modern supernatural city of Magiford, Crown of Shadows by K. M. Shea takes readers on an exciting yet familiar adventure. Fans will feel like they’ve come home, newcomers will play catch-up, and everyone will reach for book two.

About K. M. Shea

K. M. Shea is a fantasy-romance author who never quite grew out of adventure books or fairy tales, and still searches closets in hopes of stumbling into Narnia. She is addicted to sweet romances, witty characters, and happy endings.

Want More Clean Fiction?

Addicted to Vanilla is now featured on Feedspot as one of the Top 15 Clean Fiction Blogs!

Find Book Boyfriends To Write Home About



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *